Now That the Season Is Over…

Posted on Updated on

Now that the season is over, the Cubs’ offseason began around 4 p.m. today. The Cubs finished 73-89 and have the number nine pick in next year’s draft. It will be a busy off-season. To begin, free agency starts the first week in November and the GM/Winter Meetings take place later from December 8-11. I will be heading to the big city when the Cubs will hold their annual convention from January 16-18 at the Sheraton downtown. And I, for one, have a lot to write about this offseason to get ready for a very exciting 2015!

williams 79
Is Ryan Williams one of the prospects to see in 2015?

This week I began getting ready for a post about the 2015 MLB draft before those prospects begin their 2015 seasons. I have been visiting several websites to check out prospect lists and mock drafts. Video is next on the agenda. In addition, I will also have some posts about free agency and international free agency and any transactions that take place. This offseason will also see a very detailed post about Cubs prospects I cannot wait to see in 2015. And like last year, in February I will be profiling each of the Cubs’ minor league affiliates and possible rosters.

As for other posts and items of other interests, I have been designing my own baseball cards for 2015. These include prospect cards, draft cards, and future star cards. I got some feedback from a couple of associates at other blogs and the word is good so far. Check out the Card pages at the top of the site.

I will still post once a week throughout the offseason. Some of my baseball card work will be seen after trades and free agent signings over at Cubs Den. I already did some baseball cards of possible Cubs free agent signings along with trade candidates and sent them off in an email. Look for them when a trade or signing happens at that site.

I also have my list of where I will be seeing the new South Bend Cubs. June 10-12 has the Cubs new Class A affiliate in Burlington, Iowa, a half an hour from my parents. The Cubs then travel to Peoria (1.5 hours away) for three days before returning for two three games sets in Wisconsin against Beloit (40 minutes away) and the Timber Rattlers in Appleton which I doubt I will see. It should be exciting to see them in new venues. I hope to get to see two games at each place, except for Appleton.

 

Right now, I am very hopeful, and excited, to see a winning major league team on the field next year that can compete for a playoff spot. It will be nice to play games that matter.

Here’s to a great off-season and a great 2015!!!

Leave a Reply

