2015 Cubs Draft: Day Number 1

Posted on

I will update this as the day goes on. Check back around 4 and then from 6-7, I will be live giving some thoughts. The Cubs should pick somewhere close to 7 p.m. The first and second round picks will have their own profiles and posts.

6:55 P.M. 8. White Sox – Carson Fullmer – P – Vanderbilt – See Tate and Jay…Now Rodon, Sale, and Fullmer. Wow!

6:50 P.M. – 7. Boston – Andrew Benintendi – OF – Arkansas – Not a long track record, but power, Pop-eye arms, and speed.

6:42 P.M. 6. Minnesota – Tyler Jay – P – Illinois – Could be a reliever, could be a starter. Solid selection.

6:38 P.M. 5. Houston – Kyle Tucker – OF – Plant, Florida. He joins his brother in the organization.

6:32 P.M. 4. Texas – Dillon Tate – RHP – UCSB – This kid is gonna be beast. Question – will it be as a starter or a reliever.

6:25 P.M. 3. Colorado – Brendan Rodgers – SS – Lake Mary HS. Best prep player hands down in the draft

6:17 P.M. 2. Houston – Alex Bregman – SS – LSU – Great bat. Could slide over to 2B as Carlos Correa is not moving.

6:15 P.M. 1. Arizona – Dansby Swanson – SS – Vanderbilt -Good pick. Look forward to seeing him at Kane County soon.

6:00 P.M.

I am going with Brady  Aiken at #9 for the Cubs. It’s a huge risk, I know, but it could pay off with a number one starter – something the Cubs don’t have.

 


4:10 p.m. Central

Two names I hear creeping up the draft boards are Josh Naylor and Peter Lambert. Naylor is a big 1B from Ontario known for his hit tool and his lack of defensive skills. Lambert is high school pitcher out of San Dimas, California. I have profiled him before and think he might be the second best prep pitcher behind Mike Nikorak. He could be a guy the Cubs could use as an underslot pick in round one – but it is not very likely

See you at 6 p.m!!!!!!

I will have my prediction as soon at the White Sox select at #8.


1:40 P.M. Central

Could Benintendi be the chosen one?
Could Benintendi be the chosen one?

I hear things, I really do. I don’t always believe them but I do hear them. And today, one thing I can tell you is that nobody has all the same answers for who the Cubs take at #9.
Baseball America by John Manuel – Ian Happ – 2B/OF – Cincinnati
MLB.com by Jim Callis – Trenton Clark
MLB.com by Johnathan Mayo – Ian Happ
Cubs Den by John Arguello – Brady Aiken
Through the Fence by Dan Kirby – Andrew Benintendi, OF, Arkansas
Fran Graphs by Kiley McDaniel – Tyler Jay
Cubs Prospect Watch; Their staff took Buehler, Benintendi, Funkhouser, and Daz Cameron with three of the four staff taking Brady Aiken as a surprise pick.
Wrigleyville BP – They’ve been focused on the big league club as of late.
Cubs Insider – We didn’t pick one. On Sunday morning I was thinking Jay, Lambert, Chalmers, Whitley, Clark or Dewees. Today, I am thinking someone totally different.

But if you go back and look at who most prognosticators selected for the Cubs the past year you get a whole list of other names including: Jon Harris, Fulmer, Cameron, Kyle Tucker, Nikorak, Bickford, Plummer, Dewees, and DJ Stewart to name a few.

My uncertainty through yesterday was mind numbing. I made 23 cards yesterday to get ready just for the first pick.

Today, my certainty is now down to 5 picks. I am going to write up profiles this afternoon to have them out as soon as the pick is called.

Here’s who is on my short profile list to write this afternoon
Tyler Jay
Andrew Bendintendi
Mike Nikorak
Garrett Whitley

…and one more I am just not ready to disclose just yet.

Leave a Reply

