Cubs MiLB Monthly All-Star Team for May: The Pitching Is Coming Around

Posted on

When it comes to picking the All-Star team each month, it’s usually clear and dry. The players pretty much decide it for you. Whether it is average, home runs, runs batted in, earned run average, or strikeout, all I have to do is look at their splits for the month and I am done. For hitters this month, that was the case. Even the hitter of the month was a no brainer. However, when it came to pitching, I had to make some tough choices for both starters and relievers.

I take it as a good thing that the choices were hard this month. That means there is a lot of good pitching taking place in the Cub system. Usually, I like the starting pitchers on the All-Star team to have an ERA under 3. That was easy this month as there were six. Paul Blackburn just missed out at 3.00. For relievers, I like them to be under 2.00 for their ERA. And closers take precedence. This month, there were so many studly performances that I included 11 relievers on the team. They were two others who came close in Ryan McNeil and Casey Bloomquist. I am sure than next month that James Farris will return as well. I may have to readjust my standards a little bit to keep it down to six.

The pitcher of the month was the hardest to choose. Was an ERA difference of .005 going to decide it? It came down to Carson Sands of South Bend (1.24 ERA) and Trevor Clifton of Myrtle Beach (1.29). Had it not been a short start of 1.2 innings and 5 ER, Zach Hedges would have had a 1.00 ERA and been in the discussion. So, I had to do to my due diligence.

Additional stats like WHIP, BBs, Ks, and some advanced stats over Fangraphs, like BABIP and FIP, all came into play. However, it was old fashioned stats that swayed my decision. One pitcher walked half of what the other player did and struck out twice as many hitters. I like that both pitchers are in the lower levels and will be in the hunt for this award again the next couple of years. In fact, I think both are just beginning their breakout seasons.

Without further adieu, here is this month’s Cubs MiLB Monthly All-Star Team.

I think several players who’ve been in a bit of a slump will be back next month including Donnie Dewees, Billy McKinney, and Chesny Young. With Pierce Johnson, Jen-Ho Tseng and Dallas Beeler now throwing, the starting pitching could change drastically, especially at Iowa.

I will have a first half All-Star Team on the 23rd and the regular monthly one on July 1. They should be quite different.

The June All-Star Team will be much more of a challenge as 4 more teams enter the fray in Eugene, Arizona, and two Dominican teams (who start Saturday). Add in some draft picks into the minor league system and it will be a whole new ballgame.

 

One thought on “Cubs MiLB Monthly All-Star Team for May: The Pitching Is Coming Around

    […] Dewees is an RBI and triples machine at South Bend this year. He has only 1 HR and I am surprised about that. I thought he would have a bit more power. Craig Brooks has surprised me with his power and tenacity on the mound as have John Williamson and Casey Bloomquist, all relief pitchers. Dave Berg is now all the way at AA and is just beginning to get some work in after being promoted from Myrtle Beach. I got to see Kyle Miller pitch a couple of times and he has some nice movement and control on his pitches, although it is a small sample size, I think he bears watching the next month as he gets more work in. Ian Rice was Player of the Week in the Midwest League from 5/23-5/29 and he also made the Cubs Central All-Star team for May. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

