July Cards of the Month – Same Faces in New Places

Posted on

Again, there were a lot of tough choices to make this month. I started out with about 18 cards I liked a lot and whittled it down to 10 from there. Getting from 12 to 10 was very rough as one photographer had two cuts at 11 and 12. With all the changes in the Cubs system, the Cards reflect those changes.

10, 9, 8…

My own photograph of Eddy Martinez barely made the list. If he had not been smiling, some other pic would have made the cut. Coming in at nine, I love Yeiler Peguero’s jersey for Eugene and how it meshes with the background of the card. Originally, I had this card a bit higher. At number 8, 19-year-old Erling Moreno’s debut appearance at short-season Eugene made the cut. Moreno missed the better part of two years recovering from TJS. I am glad to see him healthy in the picture by Dustin Smith.

Eddy 77 2016 sbyeiler 71 2016 eugmoreno 65 2016 eug

7, 6. 5…

Donnie Dewees makes his first appearance in this countdown as Larry Kave captures Donnie warming up for his first game as a Pelican. At number six, Brad Markey and the color sequence  of his jersey with the Tennessee sunset make for a unique picture. Willson Contreras almost made it three times by the same photographer from the Tribune, @MBDChicago. I just love the color combination in this jersey!

dewees 78 2016 mbMarkey 70 2016 tenn 2willson 73 2016 chi

4, 3, 2….

I think these the next group of cards are some of the top cards of the year. I love Eloy’s exuberance at number four. Number three, Dave Baker captures the colors perfectly at Kane County of Carson Sands. At number two, I love the up close and personal nature of Carson Sands on the road.

eloy 70 2016 futuresSands 76 2016 sb sands 71 2016 sb2

#1 Rikk Carlson of Donnie Dewees: I love Rikk’s up close shot of Donnie Dewees and the expression on Donnie’s face. To me, this picture captures who Donnie is and the grit with which he plays, inside and out.

Dewees 82 2016 sb
I look forward to more great pictures this month!

You can always find more of our 2016 cards here

You can find other card sets here:

2016 Draft Cards Set

Spring Training 2016: Over 100 cards from this spring.

2015 Cards: Over 500 cards from 2015.

2014 Cards: Over 100 cards of prospects here.

2 thoughts on “July Cards of the Month – Same Faces in New Places

    GARY WRIGHT said:
    August 3, 2016 at 11:31 am

    Sorry to bother you but do you have card made yet for Colton Freeman? We have draft card but wanted one in Cubs uniform. He is in Arizona. Thank You

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

      Todd Johnson responded:
      August 3, 2016 at 11:50 am

      I don’t have a picture from Arizona. I don’t technically make cards, I just put them on the Internet. They only exist digitally. Right click on the picture and click save as

      Like

Leave a Reply

