Cubs Stun Everyone with One for the Ages

Posted on

By Todd Johnson

Wow! I am still stunned. When I think about the Cubs 6-5 win, the hair on my arms literally stands up. I don’t want that feeling to leave!

baez 78 2016 iowaI don’t think anybody saw the Cubs stringing together enough hits and a walk to score 4 runs in the ninth inning to beat the Giants In San Francisco. Throughout the series, the offense at the top of the order had been lethargic, specifically Rizzo and Russell.  I remember saying a prayer and I was sort of resigned to the fact that game five was going to be in Chicago on Thursday. Still, I liked the odds of the Cubs at home. It was a reason why they had home-field advantage. Thankfully, they are not going to need it now. I don’t know if it was the greatest comeback in postseason history, but it was the greatest comeback for the Cubs. Now, they await the winner between the Dodgers and the Nationals.

The comeback reminded me of 2015 regular season when the Cubs seemed to come back virtually every other game in the spring. If you were still hopeful, if you said a prayer like me, we just hung on last night…just in case, just in case.

NLDS MVP: Javier Baez – there’s nothing he can’t do on a baseball field. This series has shown his ability with the bat, glove, arm, speed, you name it, he’s shown he’s the best all-around player on the Cubs.

NLDS Cy Young – Travis Wood – Who knew that one of Theo’s first acquisitions would pay such big dividends in a big way this series. His bat and arm in game two saved the day, and last night, he came in and stopped the bleeding again.

willson 73 2016 chiThe Wow Factor – Both Albert Almora and Willson Contreras paid Joe Maddon back in spades for his confidence in them. Almora showed why I thought he should be on the 25 man roster with his game saving catch in game three. Willson came in last night and was amazing with a two RBI single to tie the game.

FYI – The Cubs did this all without Rizzo and Russell providing  much pop in the lineup. It was basically the bottom of the order, Bryant, and the pitchers that provided the  little offense the Cubs needed to win the series. If the Cubs can get anything out of Rizzo and Russell in the next round, it is going to be over quickly for the other team.

Despite Lackey’s lackluster start last night, the bullpen saved the game for the second time in the series. After Baez, the biggest star of this whole series was the bullpen. I just loved the way they came in and dominated San Francisco lineup.

I’ll be back on Friday with the post about the upcoming series. I hope my hair is still standing up on my arms then.

Leave a Reply

