Cubs Even It Up in Style

Posted on

img_8971

All it took was a bunt, a bloop, a single, and a two run homerun by Addison Russell and the Cubs were back in the series.* Anthony Rizzo later drove in three runs and the Cubs bullpen pitched four shut out innings as the Cubs evened the series at two games apiece. It felt pretty good to watch it. With the victory, the Cubs regained home-field advantage and guaranteed at least game six at Wrigley Field.

When I woke up this morning, I was still pretty excited about the game. Looking back, it’s hard to decide what I was most excited about. Was it Russell’s homerun? Was it Rizzo’s three RBIs? Was it the fact that the offense woke up in the middle of the series? Or, was it the fact that things seem to be turning the Cubs way?

NLCS Cubs Dodgers Baseball
Addison celebrates as he rounds the bases (AP Photo/Jae C. Hong)

I think it’s all of the above. With Lester going tonight, I feel really good about the Cubs chances to head back to Chicago with a 3 to 2 lead. That would give them two chances at Wrigley Field with Kyle Hendricks and Jake Arietta pitching. I like those chances of getting to the World Series and I get a little giggly inside when I think about that. However, first things first, the Cubs have to win tonight.

Unfortunately, I’m going to miss at least half the game. I have parent-teacher conferences tonight. I cannot call in sick, but I can guarantee you that I will have game day on my computer at school to check during breaks.

I can’t wait to see the lineup card late this afternoon. I don’t know if Manager Joe Maddon will have the same lineup as last night, but I wonder if he’s going to have someone start against a right-handed pitcher that has not started yet. That someone I’m thinking of is Chris Coghlan. I don’t know why, I think it’s just a gut feeling that his left-handed bat will play better for seven innings than someone else.

Tomorrow at this time, the Cubs will hopefully be landing in Chicago with a 3-2 series lead.

*Special thanks to Kat for the intro sentence!

Leave a Reply

