The Weekly – Cubs Add Some MiLB Depth and a Hall of Fame Discussion

Posted on

By Todd Johnson

TheWeekly

First off, Merry Christmas and Happy Hanukkah!

The Cubs did add 5 MiLBers to their system this week. One is rather familiar and that is Elliot Soto who was traded to the Marlins in the Dan Haren trade. The other four players look to be filler players who will be given a shot, but not much hope of making the big league club. They are pitchers Fernando Rodriguez and Daniel Moskos, catcher Ali Solis, and infielder Jemile Weeks. They all have bounced around, had a cup of coffee in the bigs, but never stuck for any extended period of time. They look to be just depth bench signings to fill out the AAA roster.


Over the past couple of weeks, Hall of Fame ballots have been showing up on the Internet. I have thought about doing a post about if I had a ballot. However, the whole “wait until Ron Santo” dies to put him in the hall just stuck in my craw.

However, now that Bud Selig is now in the hall, the appears to be voting in some of the games biggest known users of steroids from Selig’s era. I am OK with most of them getting in. Bonds, yes. Clemens, yes. They would have been Hall of Famers without using.

sosa 64I don’t see Sammy getting in, though he should. An entire generation of Cub fans are fans because of him. That should be honored after the relationship is fixed, hopefully. There has to be some contrition on both sides for that to happen.

Based on the tallies I have seen, it looks like Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines, and Ivan “Pudge” Rodriguez will have a high enough percentage to get in. Bonds and Clemens are close. Edgar Martinez, Trevor Hoffman Vladimir Guerrero,  and Mike Mussina are lacking, but that are another 300 ballots to come in between now and the 31st.

I always discuss with a former student of mine, who we would take every year. We never agree. For the past 15 years, I advocated for Jack Morris, he against. This year, his ballot looks pretty good.

Bagwell, Bonds, Clemens, Edgar, Mussina, Raines, IRod, Schilling, Sosa, Walker. Given ballot space, I’d also vote for Vlad, Hoffman, Sheffield and Wagner. For me, PED guys who used before testing era should all get in. But not sure about those with official tests like Manny.

I don’t agree with all of Dave’s picks. I never do. And that might just be the fun of it.

If I had a ballot, I would take Schilling off and substitute Vladimir Guerrero. I don’t think I would put Sammy in, but I could be swayed. Trevor Hoffman would be my pick instead.

Enjoy today folks! Have a Merry Christmas and a blessed second day of Hannukah.


Upcoming Posts

Position Breakdown Series: Outfielders Look Strong

Next Up Series: Duane Underwood

Draft profile: Nick Allen

Leave a Reply

