The Weekly – Prospect List Averages, Some New Cards, and Previews of Previews

Posted on Updated on

By Todd Johnson

c2tjbloxgaq4dgy-1

*While the Cubs announced they signed pitchers Dylan Floro and Jim Henderson this week, I have my own news to announce. I will also be writing for BP Wrigleyville this year. I will only be doing a couple posts a month, maybe more during the season, but not much. Don’t worry, none of the content is going to change at Cubs Central. My gig at Cubs Insider will stay the same, too. I am not going to stretch myself thin.

*With the release of Fangraphs’ prospect list this week, I started doing some math about the major prospect lists. I decided to assign a value to a prospect based on where the prospects were ranked on each list. If the were ranked first, they got ten points on down to tenth place, where they got one. I looked at lists by Baseball Prospectus, Baseball America, Cubs Den, Fangraphs, my Top 21 list, and John Sickels. There are two major lists to be released by MLB Pipeline and ESPN’s Keith Law. Here are the top 10 point-getters so far.

oscar 82 2016 sb

    1. Eloy Jimenez – 60
    2. Ian Happ – 51
    3. Dylan Cease 41
    4. Oscar de la Cruz 34
    5. Jeimer Candelario – 33
    6. Trevor Clifton – 31
    7. Albert Almora – 27
    8. Mark Zagunis – 18
    9. Jose Albertos – 16
    10. Thomas Hatch – 6

The interesting thing to me is that Albert Almora was listed on 4 of the lists as a prospect. He was not on my list nor on Cubs Den’s. Mark Zagunis did not make it onto Baseball Prospectus’ top 10 at all. Otherwise, it seems pretty consistent on who is on each list. Eddy Martinez is currently 11th with 5 points and Duane Underwood has 4. The last two lists might not come out until February. If Cubs Prospect Watch publishes a list, I will include their rankings as well.

*With Mark Trumbo’s signing, the Cubs will now pick 27th and 30th in the 2017 MLB Draft.

*I also did some CARD MAKING yesterday. It was fun to make a couple.

eloy-65-2016-fg rose-65-2016-sb

Coming Up the Next Month on Cubs Central

*The Position Breakdown Series concludes Wednesday with a look at relief pitchers in the Cubs system. The Next Up Series will continue through February. Erling Moreno is up this week followed by Mark Zagunis next.

*I started scheming a post about who I think will be the breakout prospects in the Cubs system this year in the first half. I have a few pitchers I am thinking of including Michael Rucker, Stephen Ridings, Erling Moreno, Erick Leal, and Bailey Clark. When it comes to position players, Wladimir Galindo is definitely on the list along with Matt Rose and Isaac Paredes. Usually, I split the list up into halves. So, the first half would be players at either South Bend, Myrtle Beach, and Tennessee. Second half breakouts would be primarily from Mesa, the Dominican, and Eugene. The second list would include players like Brailyn Marquez and Aramis Ademan.

*I began planning the affiliate previews, but I am waiting until March to publish those. I am thinking of doing one a day for a week. Right now, the sheer number of starting pitchers, and the competition for those spots, makes it extremely hard to pin down 5 guys at Iowa and Tennessee and 6 at Myrtle Beach and South Bend. I will let spring training narrow the rotation down a bit for me.

Upcoming Posts

Position Breakdown Series: Relievers

Next Up Series: Erling Moreno

Draft Profile: The Lipscomb Trio

Leave a Reply

