April Predictions for the Cubs from the Cubs Central Staff

Posted on

By Clark Lorensen and Todd Johnson

Prediction Time
Clark and I got together to take a look at the first month of the season to make a few predictions.

Most home runs in April
Todd – I really like how well Addison Russell has played since the middle of last year and that he picked up where he left off in spring training. I think he’s going to hit about seven home runs in April.
Clark – Kyle Schwarber- The legend continues to build. Schwarber will lead the team in April Homeruns from the leadoff spot.

Most pitching wins in April
Todd – What gets lost about Kyle Hendrix is that he is extremely competitive and that gets lost in his expressionless face. I think he comes in with five.
Clark – Arrieta.
I would go with Hendricks here, but it looks like Arrieta could get more opportunities with the way the rotation is set up.

Most saves
Todd – Wade Davis is supposed to be the closer. Therefore, I am going to roll with him, but I don’t think he’s going to have that many because I don’t think he’s going to pitch on back to back days in the month.
Clark – Davis

Most blown saves
Todd – Before he went on the DL, Brian Duensing was my pick. Now, I am going to adjust that to Hector Rondon. I will go with four for the month.
Clark – Davis. I believe Davis will get most of April to work out the issues of spring training.

Most stolen bases
Todd – While the Cubs are excellent baserunners, they don’t steal a lot of bases. I am going to go with Javy and five swipes.
Clark – Javy Baez. He’s going to continue to take chances on the base path.

Team won-loss record for April
Todd – 16-7 sounds pretty good for the defending champs. That leaves one game for a rainout.
Clark – 16-8.

Schwarber fact
Todd – He is actually pretty decent out there and his flash a strong arm to new runners on the base paths.
Clark – Schwarber will hit a triple, scaring all of us as he rounds second.

Bryant or Rizzo
Todd – Bryant. Have you seen his eyes?
Clark – Bryant. What a joy it is to have to pick between Bryant and Rizzo.

First player on the DL
Todd – Lackey
Clark – Montero

First call up
Todd – I think it’s going to be a reliever and I also think it’s going to be either Zastryzny or Concepcion. Then again, it could be Rosscup or Leathersich. Either way, it’s going to be a lefty.
Clark – Jeimer Candelario

First to be Traded
Todd – I think with the emergence of Ian Happ, La Stella has drawn the short end of the stick.
Clark – Szczur. He’s out of options.

Upcoming Posts
The Weekly
Minor-league Openers
From small things, big things one day come
Final MiLB Rosters and Surprises
MiLB weekly awards

Leave a Reply

