The Home Opener: It’s Time to Appreciate What Was Done and What Could Happen Again

Posted on Updated on

Flags will rise and tears will fall tonight. In ceremonies to be held before the game with the Los Angeles Dodgers, the Cubs will raise two flags for the NL Pennant and the World Series Championship. It will be a special night for all Cubs fans.

The Cubs came home from a week long road trip where they went 4-2. Jon Lester quipped that it feels like they had been gone for 2 1/2 months. That’s not that far from the truth.

The road trip ended well with the Cubs exploding on offense for the last two games. It wasn’t perfect by any means, but I don’t think it should be either. Here is a list of complaints I saw in comments that I should not have seen.

  • Bryant can’t hit
  • Rizzo can’t either
  • Why is Zobrist playing second base?
  • Why is Zobrist playing right field?
  • Heyward would’ve had that
  • Baez would’ve had that
  • Wilson should hold his frames a little longer

And there were many others…many others.

There are 156 games still on the schedule. Not every game is going to go perfect and not every decision by Joe Maddon will either. There is no panic button that is going to reset any wrong you think you see. The banners that will fly tonight do so because mistakes were overcome in obtaining them.

I understand the need to obsess over every little detail in a Cubs game. I’ve been there, but it’s not necessary anymore. Good teams overcome their mistakes. Don’t obsess over every single one. This Cubs team is a good team, a very good team. I don’t know if everyone really appreciates how good it is. Yes, they do have some things they need to fix, but so does every team.

Tonight, I am going to enjoy those flags being raised, and on Wednesday, I am going to enjoy the players getting their rings.¬†And I’m going to enjoy the next 156 games. If I don’t enjoy the game, I’m going to turn it off for a little bit and go pet a dog, which I enjoy just as much.

It’s opening night for the defending champions! I don’t think the Cubs are done putting up flags just yet. I am hoping this becomes an annual thing.

Leave a Reply

